• ELA

The Ordinariate Form of the Roman Rite: So Now That Makes Three Forms, Right?

Updated: Mar 1, 2020

We all thought there were only two forms of the Roman Rite, the Ordinary Form and the Extraordinary Form (commonly known as the Traditional Latin Mass). Yes, that's true, but this blogger thinks we are justified in including a third form.

So Divine Worship really is the third form of the Roman Rite -- the Ordinariate Form of the Roman Rite, written in Sacred English and containing therein the specific prayers and rubrics particular to the Anglican Patrimony for the last 1,000 years. These are based in the 11th century Sarum Missal, a Catholic liturgy used exclusively in England for 500 years prior to the English Reformation. In fact, the original 1549 Book of Common Prayer (a Protestant text) was based heavily on this medieval Catholic liturgy. So what we have in Divine Worship is the Catholic Church reclaiming a form of liturgy that was rightly hers to begin with. It is a form of liturgy that is in fact older than the Traditional Latin Mass (Extraordinary Form) in its origin.

Read the whole posting here. It's insightful and will provide you with even more understanding of the Ordinariate mission.

155 views0 comments

(905) 433-2500

©2018 by Church of the Good Shepherd